Spring!

Wanderweg on the Uetliberg. Spring arrives pretty fast around here.
Wanderweg on the Uetliberg. Spring arrives pretty fast around here.

I’m really enjoying my first Spring in Zurich. Everything burst into bloom so quickly, I’m surprised I didn’t hear popping sounds. First there were bare branches in March, and then by the beginning of April buds began to show up as little dots of green in a sea of gray and brown.

A tree begins to bud in March.
A tree begins to bud in early April.

Now I’m living in a world of green.

It's a cheerful, green-colored world.
Look how green it is by the end of April.

There is still a chance of frost until May 13, and then after that I suppose nature will really get into gear. Wow.

5 thoughts on “Spring!”

  1. Wow, May 13th! I had no idea the frost risk went until May 13th! I hope my plants survive while I am away and we don’t have any frosts. 😉

  2. Yikes. When are we ever escaping this Alpine cold?! I’ve had enough of the cold already. Enough!
    But oh yes, the green overload makes me happy; it’s the idea of things coming to life, and not just dead-and-still in the harshness of Winter.

Leave a Reply

